top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureReid & Son

Animal Boarding a.k.a. Tell your dog I said hi!

I once watched Temple Grandin speak about the wonderous gift of autism, and the challenges youth face in achieving independence. When asked what she thought children with autism need to prepare for the future, she talked about "work therapy." At that time in my motherhood, where I was a bit lost and more than a little afraid - and desperate for answers - her words seared into my brain. I told myself that I would teach my son work - and I did. We began volunteering at Arc Value Village shortly thereafter, and my son has volunteered or worked in one capacity or another ever since.

In my generation, paper routes taught important working skills. Today, parents should set up jobs a child can do in the neighborhood such as walking dogs for the neighbors. Younger children can do volunteer jobs outside the home such as being an usher at a house of worship or community center. This will teach both discipline and responsibility. It improved my self esteem to be recognized for doing a job well.

Now, a junior in high school, my son works about 8 hours per week at a local grocery store. Vocational rehabilitation has been phenomenal for helping him secure and succeed in his employment.

I have decided we are ready to ready to embark on a new chapter in work therapy, dog sitting. (pun intended, of course) I wonder how many parents of kids on the spectrum have sat at playdates - but instead of playing with the other kid, your kid played with the other household pet? I am guessing I am not the only one. Why not channel this love and gift for animal care and communication into gaining work skills? And why didn't I think of this sooner? Rover and other apps have made it possible for animal-obsessed families like ours to enter into the gig economy together.

We are busy preparing for this exciting undertaking and feel that anything is paws-ible!

Comments


bottom of page